Home > News > View

ILSA announce new album, debut first single

Tuesday, October 6, 2020 9:52 AM PT

Washington DC's ILSA return with their sixth full-length album, Preyer coming November 20 through Relapse Records. The album's first single, "Poor Devil," can be streamed here:

ILSA frontman Orion comments on the new track: "'Poor Devil' sprung from study of Potter's Fields and the story of Judas Iscariot, where I found parallels with Satanic murderer Sean Seller's 'betrayal' by his best friend and Judas' role as biblical scapegoat. For such a lynchpin in the Passion of Christ, Judas was never afforded the reverence of the other disciples; forever damned as an unredeemable traitor, while the story could never be complete without his participation. The Potter's Field where Judas hung himself became the burial grounds of the discarded and unclaimed dead, and the name stuck to this day. Apologies to D.I.'s 'Richard Hung Himself', where we snuck a nod to the one of the best punk songs ever written."

Preyer track listing:

01. Epigraph
02. Poor Devil
03. Moonflower
04. Shibboleth
05. Mother of God
06. Scavengers
07. Widdershins
08. Preyer
09. Lady Diamond
10. Behind the Veil
11. The Square Coliseum

Related:  ILSA, Relapse Records

Related News Stories