Home > News > Comments

Prosthetic Records signs Starkill

Wednesday, August 24, 2016 6:37 PM PT

Official press release:

Prosthetic Records are pleased to announce the signing of Illinois-based symphonic melodeath group Starkill to their evergrowing roster. Formed in 2008, Starkill self-released their debut EP before being discovered by Century Media Records in 2011 where they went on to release two full-length albums, 2013's Fires of Life and its follow-up Virus of the Mind in 2014.

Starkill are excited to reveal their third album, Shadow Sleep, will be released via Prosthetic Records worldwide on November 4, 2016. Lead guitarist and vocalist, Parker Jameson commented, "We are thrilled to announce not only our signing to new home Prosthetic Records, but also the release of our third studio album, Shadow Sleep. Jameson continued to reveal, "'Gustavo Sazes [Arch Enemy, Kamelot, Firewind] tackled the artwork which perfectly matches the themes of internal struggle and introspective lyrics, and this was the first album in which the four of us tackled a good amount of the actual tracking and production of the album."

Recorded and mixed at Electrowerks Studio with Chuck Macak (Fall of Troy, Oceano, Letlive) while being sent for mastering by Troy Glessner (August Burns Red, Devin Townsend, Death Cab for Cutie), Shadow Sleep presents thirteen tracks of melodic, majestic death metal reinforced by Jameson's over-the-top shredding paired with one of the tightest rhythm sections in the scene.

"This album was the culmination of many tours, new experiences and knowledge, and in our opinion, marks the starting point of where the true Starkill sound begins" exclaimed Jameson, "We've finally found ourselves, our musical style and finally have access to all the musical tools we've ever wanted: two screamers, two male singers, and newly featured on this record, the addition of a female vocalist. This album marks a critical turning point for Starkill, and we are excited to be with Prosthetic Records for this new chapter."

Shadow Sleep track listing:

01. Walk Through Fire
02. Burn Your World
03. Through The Darkness
04. Shadow Sleep
05. Cloudless
06. Piece of Paradise
07. Ruin
08. Into The Grey
09. Razors Edge
10. No Savior
11. Erase Me
12. Farewell
13. Captive of The Night

Subscribe to Lambgoat on