Home > News > View

Poison The Well comments on new album

Thursday, January 18, 2007 10:58 AM PT

Official press release:

Poison The Well are preparing their new full-length "Versions" for an April release via Ferret Music. This is the band's first release since 2003's "You Come Before You" on Atlantic Records, which sold over 130,000 copies in the US. Heading from their tropical home in Ft Lauderdale/Miami FL to Umea, Sweden to record with the production team of Pelle Henricsson and Eskil Lovstro, who recorded "You Come Before You" as well as classic albums by The Refused, Breach and others: "The sun is only out for about five hours a day and even when it is up, it's so overcast here you can't tell it's daylight," guitarist Ryan Primack speaks from the octagon shaped barn that serves as the band's recording studio. The trio of Primack, Chris Hornbrook (drums) and Jeffrey Moreira (vocals) wrote the forthcoming album over the past year. Talking about the new material Primack describes it as having many more colors and nuances than previous work. "The songs are pretty open ended and there's a lot of unique instrumentation in the background throughout such as mandolins, slide guitar, horns and banjo." Primack who plays all of the unexpected instruments on the disc adds "this is not out of the blue, we actually started to add these elements to the last album but we didn't have time to flesh them out like with Versions. It's going to be a really different sounding album in hardcore, well as different as you can be in hardcore nowadays."

Related:  Poison The Well

Related News Stories