Home > News > View

Young Widows (Breather Resist) album details

Friday, May 26, 2006 3:30 PM PT

Official press release (Jade Tree):

The three members of Young Widows emerged from the dissolution of Breather Resist with a new vision steeped in dark, brooding grooves and moody post-punk. From the reverb-drenched inspiration of Regulator Watts/Hoover to the bass and drums lock-groove perfected by Shellac and the Jesus Lizard, Young Widows gladly wears influences on its sleeve. The signature inventive guitar work of vocalist/guitarist Evan Patterson (Black Cross, The National Acrobat) is at its peak here, while the rhythm section of Nick Thieneman and Geoff Paton lays down syrup-thick grooves, recalling Pacific Northwest heavyweights (think Melvins, Karp, even Nirvana), and British post-punk, ala Gang Of Four. "Settle Down City" contains 11 songs of hypnotic, heavy, noise-rock anthems and will hit stores on September 12th. Here's the track listing:

01. Settle Down City
02. Almost Dead Beat
03. Glad He Ate Her
04. Small Talk
05. Formererer
06. Bruised Knees
07. Mirrorfucker
08. The Charmers MP3
09. New Forest
10. The First Half
11. We Don't Know

Related News Stories