NewsFebruary 14, 2024 12:14 PM ET1,613 views

Deicide deliver music video for new single "Sever The Tongue", announce new album 'Banished By Sin'

deicide 24 deidra kling

In conjunction with Ash Wednesday, death metal titans Deicide have released a new single "Sever The Tongue" from the newly announce album Banished By Sin.

Pre-order Banished By Sin here

"Sever The Tongue" is a product of Smoke & Mirrors, showcasing Deicide's pursuit of extreme musical devastation. Engineered by Jeramie Kling and driven by Taylor Nordberg's musicianship, it's mastered by Josh Wilbur.

This release is a teaser for the upcoming album Banished By Sin, dropping on April 26th, and marks the start of pre-orders for what promises to be a significant addition to death metal. Fans wanting their copy can grab it now to be among the first to experience Deicide's latest sacrilegious offering.

Vocalist Glen Benton shared the following:

I've been sitting in a dark corner for several years now. A few things have come into my life that have shaken and changed me. I got inspired writing this new record—it was like flipping a switch. I no longer have the aggravation of other peoples' hangups interfering with what I have and want to do. I stopped chasing everybody else's happiness a long time ago. The guy who started this shit is back! And it's good to be back!"

Musically, we're back to the 1990s style. There's modern stuff in there, too. It's Deicide the way it was meant to be. My hooky songs are there, Steve's prog-styled songs are there, and we got Kevin's theme-styled songs. Having Taylor in the band has impacted Deicide greatly. He's a fantastic songwriter and player. He can do anything. The four of us contributed three songs each. I'm back with the high screaming and layering. I'm just absolutely going off on this one. I've been told it's one of my best vocal performances. I'm like Rumpelstiltskin—here to spin your hay into gold. Everybody's going to be pleasantly surprised.

Below you can watch the NSFW David Brodsky-directed music video.




Pre-order Banished By Sin here

Banished By Sin Tracklist:

1. From Unknown Heights You Shall Fall
2. Doomed To Die
3. Sever The Tongue
4. Faithless
5. Bury The Cross…With Your Christ
6. Woke From God
7. Ritual Defied
8. Failures Of Your Dying Lord
9. Banished By Sin
10. Trinity Of None
11. I Am I…A Curse Of Death
12. The Light Defeated

Related Lambgoat Video content:

Tags: Deicide

Related News

Replicant's 'Infinite Mortality'

#137 - Chris Fox of Flesh And Blood Robot / See You Next Tuesday