NewsFebruary 5, 2024 7:31 AM ET3,633 views

Kerry King releases first single and shares details for new project and album

kerry king 24

Andrew Stuart

California thrash metal guitar icon Kerry King has finally shared the details of his new project as well as released the band's first single, Idle Hands, from the bands debut full length, From Hell I Rise, out May 17th. 

Pre-orders available here.

Along with Kerry King, the band includes Death Angel vocalist Mark Osegueda, former Slayer drummer Paul Bostaph, former Hellyeah bassist Kyle Sanders, and former Machine Head guitarist Phil Demmel.

King shared the following with Rolling Stone regarding the first new music of the project:

"From Hell I Rise", is one of two songs — along with "Rage" — on the album that he has carried over from SLAYER's Repentless sessions. "It was finished, we recorded it. I wasn't happy with the performance part of it, so I was like, 'All right, I'll put this in my back pocket until the next SLAYER record.' And that didn't happen, so it's now on my record.

King explains how he decided on the project's name. 

I didn't. It was going to be KING'S REIGN for a long time, which is really cool. But even with that one, I went to the guys, like, 'I'm not a vain dude. I don't want my name to be a part of it.' We talked about BLOOD REIGN for a while, but it didn't work. Every time I came up with anything remotely cool, it was taken by some obscure band in Eastern Europe. It became KERRY KING because I love that logo.

King also spoke on his relationship with ex-Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo, when asked if he has spoken to Lombardo Kerry shared:

No. Lombardo is dead to me.

He went on that tirade when we were on a flight to Australia, and he knew we couldn't retort for 14 hours, and he threw me under the bus. I was the only one keeping him in the band. Tom wanted him out before that, and Jeffhad just gotten the spider bite, so he wasn't playing with us much. I said, 'We need him. The fans won't get it if we replace him right now.' And then the Australia thing came up. He threw me under the bus, and I'm like, 'I'm the guy that kept you here.' So I thought, 'Fuck that guy.'

He's super impressionable. He was listening to this woman that was his attorney at the time, and she thought we had Metallica money, which we've never had fucking Metallica money. So she's just blowing shit in his ear, and he thinks he should be getting more than he should be getting. It's like, talk to somebody that actually knows the situation and isn't just blowing sunshine up your ass to make money in your commission.




Kerry King - From Hell I Rise | Metal Kingdom
From Hell I Rise track list:
  1. Diablo
  2. Where I Reign
  3. Residue
  4. Idle Hands
  5. Trophies Of The Tyrant
  6. Crucifixation
  7. Tension
  8. Everything I Hate About You
  9. Toxic
  10. Two Fists
  11. Rage
  12. Shrapnel
  13. From Hell I Rise

Related Lambgoat Video content:

Related News

Replicant's 'Infinite Mortality'

#137 - Chris Fox of Flesh And Blood Robot / See You Next Tuesday