NewsJanuary 12, 2024 10:09 AM ET3,225 views

Aborted announce new album and share single "Death Cult" feat Alex Erian (Despised Icon)


Belgian death metal outfit Aborted have released their new single "Death Cult" featuring Despised Icon vocalist Alex Erian. The single is taken from the band's upcoming new album, Vault of Horrors, which will be released on March 15th via Nuclear Blast Records

The album is inspired by horror films across many decades including The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Halloween and The Mist. The new album will also feature appearances from members of Cryptopsy, Shadow of Intent, Fleshgod Apocalypse, Signs of the Swarm and more. 

Pre-orders available here

Below is a statement from the band regarding the new album:

'With each of these 10 new tracks, Aborted dives deep into the vaults of VHS cassettes and stories that have been haunting us all for decades. Each song pays tribute to a horror cult classic and ranges from obligatory cuts such as 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' (to be found on 'Death Cult') or 'Halloween' ('The Shape Of Hate') to the more recent 'The Mist' to be discovered on "Malevolent Haze'.

True to themselves, it wouldn't be an Aborted reference without an odious homage to none other than shit daemon 'The Golgothan' (sadly defeated by Silent Bob through the use of deodorant, cheeky bastard!).

"Vault of Horrors" is an epic journey where listeners are thrust into a world of intense brutality, characterized by lightning-fast guitar riffs, intricate, pummeling drum patterns and monstrous vocals that leave no room for respite.'



Aborted - Vault of Horrors - Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Vault of Horrors tracklist

  1. Dreadbringer feat Ben Duerr (Shadow of Intent)
  2. Condemned to Rot feat Francesco Paoli (Fleshgod Apocalypse)
  3. Brotherhood of Sleep feat Johnny Ciardullo (AngelMaker/Carcosa)
  4. Death Cult feat Alex Erain (Despised Icon)
  5. Hellbound feat Matt McGachy (Cryptopsy)
  6. Insect Politics feat Jason Evans (Ingested)
  7. The Golgothan feat Hal Microutsicos (Blasphemous)
  8. The Shape of Hate feat Oliver Rae Aleron (Archspire)
  9. Naturom Demonto feat David Simonich III (Signs of the Swarm)
  10. Malevolent Haze feat Ricky Hoover (Ov Sulfur)

Related News

#150 Simon Marinate of Tracheotomy

#110 Mikael Stanne of Dark Tranquillity/The Halo Effect