NewsNovember 16, 2023 10:11 AM ET1,131 views

Ihsahn set to deliver new self-titled album in February, shares new single "Pilgrimage To Oblivion"


Bjørn Tore Moen

The upcoming solo LP Ihsahn by Norwegian multi-instrumentalist Ihsahn (known for his work with Emperor) is set to be released on February 16 through Candlelight Records. Alongside the traditional album version, Ihsahn's latest release will feature an orchestral rendition.

Pre-order Ihsahn here.

The initial single from the upcoming album, titled "Pilgrimage To Oblivion," has recently been unveiled below.

Ihsahn provides insight:

'Pilgrimage To Oblivion' offers a direct glimpse into the overarching musical and conceptual elements of the album. The lyrics delve straight into the storyline, and the accompanying video is the first installment in a series depicting the entire narrative.

On average, I've been releasing a full-length album every second year since I was 16. And, you know, that has given me some opportunity to explore different options, so for my eighth full-length solo record, I thought, 'Okay, how can I do what I do best, but also raise the bar tenfold?' At the heart of what I do is black metal, extreme distorted guitars and screaming, but since the earliest EMPEROR recordings you'll hear the keyboard parts influenced by classic soundtracks by the likes of Jerry Goldsmith, John Williams, Bernard Herrmann, John Carpenter and so on. So, I approached the writing with the intent to present the material in its full-blown metal expression, but also to arrange the orchestral parts in such a way that they would work independently. Somehow an attempt to write a soundtrack within the structures of the full production, allowing me to explore different, and sometimes contrasting, variations of essentially the same music. In the end I wrote all the music as a piano short-score and arranged it for a typical band ensemble and orchestra, accordingly, making sure everything interlocked.

Ihsahn showcases the talents of Tobias Ørnes Andersen and Tobias Solbakk on drums and percussion. Additionally, Ihsahn's son, Angell Solberg Tveitan, contributes extra percussion, and Chris Baum provides the violin elements. The artwork for the album was crafted by Ritxi Ostari.

Ihsahn track listing:

01. Cervus Venator
02. The Promethean Spark
03. Pilgrimage To Oblvision
04. Twice Born
05. A Taste Of The Ambrosia
06. Anima Extraneae
07. Blood Trails To Love
08. Hubris And Blue Devils
09. The Distance Between Us
10. At The Heart Of All Things Broken
11. Sonata Profana


Post Comment

anonymous 246 days ago

Emily. Soto.

NorthFromHere 246 days ago

Not bad I guess.

anonymous 246 days ago

Make a pilgrimage to my seafood market for fresh fish!!! GCTC keepn' it real

anonymous 246 days ago


#150 Simon Marinate of Tracheotomy

#110 Mikael Stanne of Dark Tranquillity/The Halo Effect