NewsMarch 16, 2023 9:14 PM ET745 views

Dødheimsgard returns after 8 years with new single and a new album on the way

Dødheimsgard 2023

After a hiatus of eight years, Dødheimsgard returns with a new album titled Black Medium Current set to release on April 14 through Peaceville Records.

The band's latest single, "Abyss Perihelion Transit," is already available for streaming and comes with an accompanying video created by artist Costin Chiorenau. The track runs for more than 10 minutes and is an immersive experience.

Black Medium Current can be pre-ordered here.


Founder Vicotnik shared the following:

The whole album revolves subjectively around perception, experience, psychology, objective/subjective reality vs external pressure, tropes, taboos, the laws of motion/causality which influences one's life. The subjective perception of reality vs the objective causal effects of reality and how they are bound to interact. Epistemological dualism.

I guess mental health, or rather instead of health, let's call it mental condition is a big topic on this record. Not as in a complaining way, or as a good or bad notion, but rather a subject's study of his own psychology (en)during everything.

Like the ambiguity of Being. What is Being? Is it a meta-physical stratum of subjective emotionally fuelled notions or is Being just explaining a physical object that is, therefore being. Epistemologically I guess these lyrics dwell a lot on naïve realism vs representational realism. Cognitivism vs behaviourism, and then bringing it all to an artist context obviously. So, it is experiential renditioning, not solution driven.

Black Medium Current tracklist:
1. Et Smelter
2. Tankespinnerens Smerte
3. Interstellar Nexus
4. It Does Not Follow
5. Voyager
6. Halow
7. Det Tomme Kalde Morke
8. Abyss Perihelion Transit
9. Requiem Aeternum

EP: #088 Amy Sciarretto of Atom Splitter PR

Least Hated: BOYSETSFIRE 'The Misery Index: Notes From The Plague Years'
"'The Misery Index: Notes From The Plague Years' was perhaps an exclamation point to finish the first wave of their career"