NewsMarch 5, 2023 4:10 PM ET1,346 views

Devangelic unveil new single ahead of 'Xul' release


Official press release:

Italian brutal death metal Devangelic have released the official video for "Udug-Hul Incantation," the second single from forthcoming album Xul.

Guitarist/Composer Mario Di Giambattista had this to say about the new single:

"Udug-Hul Incantation" is the slowest song on the album with many creepy dissonances and catchy riffs. It was the second song that I wrote in 2020 for Xul and I think it's one of the best songs I've ever written for Devangelic.

The symbolism of the number 3 has always fascinated me, so I kept that position in the tracklist reserved for a slow song. I used the same formula on our second album, Phlegethon, where track #3 ("Of Maggots ..") is the album's slow track.

I love the lyrics of this song. They are evil, brutal and evocative. The text is inspired by the book Healing Magic and Evil Demons by Markham J. Geller. It details an ancient exorcism that ends in the worst way, one in which all the participants end up possessed by the spirit of Evil Udug, rather than being released from possession.

With this epilogue I wanted to give a representation of man's perfidy, which has characterized human beings since Earth's beginnings. Man is faced with his own inner demons: evil as a representation of 'darkness' and the duality of man, as one tries to exorcise negative emotions. But as history teaches us, the negative almost always prevails over human efforts to the contrary. It is an evil that still emerges today, as numerous recent events demonstrate.

When I started to compose the first riffs and dissonances for 'Udug-Hul,' I already had in mind to write a song that dealt with an ancient exorcism, and I started to imagine the evolution of the whole story. So let's say it is a song that was born and evolved almost spontaneously, both as a slow progression and as disturbing and dissonant melodies. There are in fact some compositional solutions that I had never used on any other tracks."

Devangelic return with their new highly anticipated 4th album, Xul, April 7 on CD, vinyl, and digital formats via Willowtip Records

The new full-length offers the band's best material to date and reveals Devangelic performing death metal in its purest form, albeit, one with a different musical approach. The songwriting is mature and catchy without losing focus on the band's primary aim: annihilating the listener!

"Xul" is originally a Sumerian word used to denote the "Evil" and this is the main topic of the new album's concept. Basically an introspective journey in which the human being, since his appearance on Earth, is forced to face his own inner demons; evil seen as a representation of the "darkness" and the duality of man, who tries to exorcise his own negative emotions. But, as history teaches us, the negative almost always prevails in a battle against human weakness.

Xul Track Listing:

1. Scribes Of Xul
2. Which Shall Be The Darkness Of The Heretic
3. Udug-Hul Incantation
4. Famine Of Nineveh
5. Sirius, Draconis, Capricornus
6. Worship Of The Black Flames
7. Ignominious Flesh Degradation
8. Hymn Of Savage Cannibalism
9. Shadows Of The Iniquitous
10. Sa Belet Ersetim Ki'Am Parsusa

Related News

#151 - Scott Lee of NEMHF and 1126 Records

#150 Simon Marinate of Tracheotomy