NewsJuly 30, 2022 2:45 PM ET873 views

Thotcrime signs to Prosthetic Records, announce new album

Band also share leas single 'Rejection Sensitivity Dysphoria'

Thotcrime promo

Veronica Mullen

Official press release:

Prosthetic Records are thrilled to announce the signing of multinational cybergrind band Thotcrime. Composed of members hailing from Champaign-Urbana, IL, Philadelphia, PA and Nottingham, UK, Thotcrime will be releasing their second album, D1G1T4L_DR1FT via the Los Angeles label on October 28. Lead single, 'Rejection Sensitivity Dysphoria', is streaming now along with an accompanying music video.


Speaking on the album announcement, K. Salmon (producer) comments:

"The new album represents us moving into new territories musically. Over the last few split releases we've been exploring the world of heavy guitar music and electronic music a lot further outside the field of the sounds on our debut album. We really feel that this album brings together all those new sounds in a powerful and cohesive way."

Of the lead single, Malady Jane (guitar) adds:

"Rejection Sensitivity Dysphoria shows the sort of approach we've taken with our new album, drawing from our loves of both heavy guitar-oriented music and more electronic pop and dance styles. Lyrically, the song deals with the way that neurodivergence and mental illness can make you feel the world is out to get you."


Thotcrime's prolific output to date has seen the band generate a buzz in online music communities and garner praise from Bandcamp Daily in the publication's profile on the burgeoning cybergrind movement at large. D1G1T14L_DR1FT, the follow up to 2020s ønyøurcømputer, sees Thotcrime continue to gleefully abandon genre convention in favour of boundless individuality and invention. Of the 13 tracks, the group boast features from Carson Pace of The Callous Daoboys, Katie Davies of Pupil Slicer, Aki McCullough of Dreamwell and diana starshine.

On their second long player Thotcrime continue to shun all that is conventional whilst cohesively blending together disparate influences from 100 Gecs to The Locust, D1G1T4L_DR1FT finds the international act steadfastly embracing exultation and conquering all that stands in their way. Stop the doomscrolling, Thotcrime is the perfect antidote.

D1G1TAL_DR1FT tracklist:
1. This Isn't Foundation, Now Give Me Your Skin Please?
2. There Will Come Soft Rains
3. Rejection Sensitivity Dysphoria
4. trust://fall
5. 4V3R4GE_TU35D4Y.exe (ft Aki McCullough)
6. You're Like A Black Hole, The Way You Expect My Life To Revolve Around You
7. Tweet This!
8. Broken Rib
9. Critical Codependence (ft diana starshine)
10. This Is My Breakdown, I Get To Pick The Music (ft Carson Pace)
11. Central Dogma 12. MOTHERFUCKER UNLIMITED (ft Kate Davies)
13. I Couldn't End Me, So I'd Like To See You Try

Tags: Thotcrime