NewsJune 3, 2022 1:59 PM ET3,046 views

I AM announce new album 'Eternal Steel', debut lead single

Official press release:

Texas death unit I AM will release their Eternal Steel full-length September 9th via MNRK Heavy, today unveiling the record's artwork, track listing, and first single.

Brandishing a unique blend of furious thrash and death metal like a weapon of mass destruction, I AM is purely no-nonsense in their patented "Texas Death" assault.

Across three full-length slabs of bludgeoning intensity and snarling rage, I AM puts a Southern stamp and revitalized swagger into deathcore, a subgenre rarely as raw, energized, and diverse as this band. In the spirit of fellow Southern icons Pantera and newer Texan heroes Power Trip, I AM channels discontent and anger into empowering anthems, as likely to inspire a grueling workout as to incite the pit. Reminiscent of the combination of death metal heaviness and thrash metal speed found in the early catalog of Sepultura, I AM mines the heaviness of Morbid Angel and the dexterity of the Big 4 to create something groundbreaking of their own. Vocalist Andrew Hileman -- who started the band in 2011 -- guitarists Tom Reyes and Chris Burgess, bassist Erik Rodriguez, and drummer Ian Scott deliver their Texas Death in clubs, theaters, and festivals, with bands like The Acacia Strain and Kublai Khan.

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Randy Leboeuf (Kublai Khan, Sentinels, The Acacia Strain), Eternal Steel, the quintet's debut for MNRK Heavy, combines the onslaught of the band's well-received Hard 2 Kill (2018) with the primal bite of Life Through Torment (2017) into a singular statement of intent.

"We took what we did well on Hard 2 Kill to new extremes on Eternal Steel," notes Reyes. "It's faster than the last album, it's heavier than the last album, and it expands on every other aspect of our sound. 'Heavy' doesn't always have to mean 'slow.' Frequently for us, the faster parts are equally as heavy."

In advance of the release of Eternal Steel, today I AM unveils a video for the record's first single, "The Iron Gate," now playing at BrooklynVegan.

Comments Hileman, "When searching for solace and protection, I tend to find it's often met with opposite hostility. The process of growth only occurs when forced into these uncomfortable situations. 'The Iron Gate' is that place of cruelty that I find so beautiful for the soul. Beware and enter if you dare."

Eternal Steel will be released on CD, LP, cassette, and digitally.

Eternal Steel track listing:

01. The Primal Wave
02. Surrender To The Blade
03. The Iron Gate
04. Eternal Steel
05. Vicious Instinct
06. Infernal Panther
07. Queen Incarnate
08. Heaven On Earth
09. Price Of Pain
10. Eye Candy
11. Manic Cure

Related Lambgoat Video content:

Related News

Our Lady of Annihilation at 20: An Interview With Members of Most Precious Blood
Our Lady of Annihilation at 20: An Interview With Members of Most Precious Blood
Justin Brannan, Rachel Rosen and Rob Fusco look back at Most Precious Blood's pivotal second album two decades after its release

#120 Colin Campbell of Colin Of Arabia