NewsMarch 28, 2022 10:14 AM ET799 views

Druids to release new album 'Shadow Work' in June

Official press release:

Shrouded in mystique and driven by the invigorating power of low notes, psychedelic metal outfit Druids returns with their fourth studio LP, Shadow Work, set for release June 3rd via Pelagic Records.

With an album title referring to one of the chief ideas of the notable psychoanalyst Carl Gustav Jung, the trio from Iowa presents a wild, riff-laden journey through the desolate wastelands of the subconscious. Combining the sonic prowess of Mastodon with the psychedelic heaviness of OM, Druids serves their grooves with a distinctly forward-thinking attitude, taking their witchy brand of psychedelic sludge metal to a new level of sophistication.


"We wanted to make a record that reflected the uncertainty of everything in 2020, and we figured this would be the time to really try something different," explains drummer Keith Rich. By moving their operations from their hometown of Des Moines, Iowa to Salt Lake City, Utah, the band was able to escape the distractions of everyday life and shift their gaze from the endless cornrows of their homeland to the breathtaking peaks of the Rocky Mountains. The result is a record that sees Druids increase the dynamics of their compositions while incorporating an even wider spectrum of sounds.

"We wanted to make a pivot with this new record, slow things down and experiment with different sounds," continues Rich, pointing to further influences ranging from Radiohead to Neurosis. Indeed the choppy bass lines of album closer "Cloak-Noir Bloom" do hearken back to quintessential experimental rock opus "Airbag," while only moments later the same track breathes the explosive atmosphere of the seminal post-metal act from Oakland, California. Truthfully, these three musicians sound nothing like a three-piece, but rather like an army, the way they march through their songs.

In advance of the release of Shadow Work, the band has unveiled first single, "Ide's Koan," now playing at this location:

Shadow Work will be released on CD, LP, and digitally. Fans of Mastodon, OM, Baroness, Conan, Bell Witch, Pallbearer, Sleep, Queens Of The Stone Age, and the like, pay heed.

Shadow Work track listing:

1. Aether
2. Pathtor
3. Ide's Koan
4. Hide
5. Dance Of Skulls
6. Othenian Blood
7. Traveller
8. Cloak - Noir Bloom

Related News

Top Fifteen Stories on Lambgoat in 2022
A look at the most-viewed news stories in the metal and hardcore scene during the year 2022.

Top Ten Stories on Lambgoat in December 2022
Pantera performed with its new line up for the first time, It Dies Today announced a reunion, and more