NewsDecember 7, 2021 11:26 AM ET1,379 views

Abysmal Dawn announce new EP, premiere first single

Official press release:

Los Angeles death metal titans Abysmal Dawn will be releasing a new EP, Nightmare Frontier, on February 4, 2022 via Season of Mist. Track listing, artwork, and additional details can be found below. In conjunction with the release, the band is now sharing their brand new single, "A Nightmare Slain," along with a music video that was created by Guilherme Henriques. Listen and watch at this location:

Abysmal Dawn frontman/founding member Charles Elliott comments, "The music for this track was recorded for Phylogenesis, but we left it off the record. We thought it was a great song but we felt it didn't quite fit into the flow of that album. The music shows a bit more of a slightly progressive and melodic side of the band, which we may explore more in the future. The lyrics were written during the pandemic and are inspired by the lore of the video game 'Bloodborne.'

"Now, we have a lot of songs filled with social commentary and introspective lyrics. When it came time to write the words for this one, I don't think I could bring myself to focus any more on the misery or subjugation that we live in our day to day lives. Who needs another song of 'COVID' drivel or divisive politics at this point? Hopefully we can all agree on what I discovered while I was trapped at home for over a year; 'Bloodborne' is one of the greatest video games ever made. 'Animal Crossing' and 'Mario Party' fans should definitely check it out, along with the rest of the 'soulsborne' genre for a stress free good time... We hope you enjoy our song inspired by one of the most metal games ever made. Enjoy and see you on tour!"


Pre-orders for Nightmare Frontier are now live. The single and EP can be pre-saved across all streaming services.

Nightmare Frontier was mixed and mastered by Charles Elliott at Tastemaker Audio. Drums were engineered by John Haddad at Trench Studios, while tracking for all instruments was handled by Elliott. The artwork for Nightmare Frontier was created by Par Olofson.

Nightmare Frontier track listing:

01. A Nightmare Slain
02. Blacken The Sky
03. Behind Space 
04. Bewitched

Related News