NewsDecember 4, 2021 12:25 PM ET3,408 views

Great American Ghost to release new EP in January, first single online

Great American Ghost

Chris Klump

Official press release:

Boston's Great American Ghost will release their anticipated Torture World EP on January 20th, 2022 via MNRK Heavy, today unveiling its cover art, track listing, and first single, "Kingmaker."

Produced by Will Putney (A Day To Remember, Knocked Loose, The Amity Affliction), who handled the band's critically-adored 2019 full-length, Power Through Terror, with Torture World, the band directs old-school hardcore wrath at hypocrisy, apathy, and self-loathing, delivered in a dark cloud of relentlessly bludgeoning riffs. The EP's title track blends atmospheric melodies with unrelenting heaviness, maneuvering swiftly between classic death metal, crushing hardcore, and double bass-fueled fury. "Womb" is as fast and severe as anything originating from the frozen forests of Scandinavia, swinging wildly back and forth between blackened death and slow, bludgeoning sludge. "Death Forgives No One" concludes the proceedings, with a progressive bent, equal parts driving and haunting, with an almost esoteric quality beneath it all.

Vocalist Ethan Harrison and guitarist Niko Gasparrini spoke about their shared love of Nine Inch Nails and industrial, resulting in Torture World's first single, "Kingmaker." The very metal but angular, sharply percussive EP opener showcases the band's attention to detail in crafting instrumentation, carefully weaving through choruses, breakdowns, and bludgeoning riffs.

"'Kingmaker' is a song I wrote at the height of the QAnon hysteria," elaborates Harrison on the theme driving the pummel. "It was my own observation on the kind of people that allow something so clearly based in racism and bigotry, that has been propagated for hundreds of years just to be repackaged and resold as something new and original, to fuel their every choice and how much that disgusts me. Some things should be rejected on their face."

View Great American Ghost's "Kingmaker" video at this location:

Torture World will be released on CD, LP, cassette, and digitally.

Torture World track listing:

1. Kingmaker
2. Torture World
3. Womb
4. Death Forgives No One

Related Lambgoat Video content:

Related News

Atræ Bills' 'Aumicide'

#138 Sean Zatorsky of Dååth