NewsSeptember 21, 2021 4:25 PM ET1,189 views

Dream Unending (Tomb Mold, Innumerable Forms) to release debut album in November

Official press release:

Dream Unending, a cleverly self-described "doom metal Postal Service" by founders Derrick Vella (Tomb Mold) and Justin DeTore (Innumerable Forms), release their debut album, Tide Turns Eternal on November 19 via 20 Buck Spin.

The illustrious pair, whose works have been hailed by a wide sweep of outlets including NPR, Rolling Stone, Decibel, Pitchfork, The Needle Drop amongst others, give listeners a taste of the seven-song, 45-minute album with today's release of "In Cipher I Weep":

"'In Cipher I Weep' was the first song we wrote," explains Vella of the sprawling track. "That must have been nearly 2 years ago now. Definitely the darkest song on the album. Intense lyrics. It leads off with that strange fretless bass, those dying flange harmonics, the vampiric harmonizing, the haunting organ (Thanks, Dad) and transforms into this spellbinding piece full of beauty only to be undone with the heaviest moment of the album. Justin's vocals sound like the pillars of heaven crashing into the earth. It's good stuff."

Tides Turns Eternal sees the musicians expand into entirely new and unexpected directions, composing songs that drift between emotional states both forlorn and uplifting. Ascendant Floydian guitar textures and sparkling Cure-esque strumming lift the music out of the purely metal realm, where moody rock introspection allows for Elysian respite before DeTore's world crushing roar assures no escape from earthly tumult is certain.

"Dream Unending and Tide Turns Eternal is a testament to the idea that music can be limitless," continues Vella. "This album was created by Justin and I without ever being in the same room, city or country. It defied closed borders and acts as more than just a record. It's an affirmation of life. It's a vision quest. It poses questions pertaining to fear, discovery, the value of one's soul and offers an answer. Dream Unending serves as an excellent outlet for a language that Justin and I speak that we can't express elsewhere. It pays tribute to not just doom, but to all the styles of music we love, and the immersive/cinematic quality of fully realized albums. The songs are heavy, dreary, and dreamy. What more could you ask for?"


Tide Turns Eternal track list:

1. Entrance
2. Adorned In Lies
3. In Cipher I Weep
4. The Needful
5. Dream Unending
6. Forgotten Farewell
7. Tide Turns Eternal

Related News

Lambgoat Comment Reacts: Caleb Shomo of Beartooth
Watch Caleb react to the world famous Lambgoat comments.

Lambgoat Comment Reacts: Sam Carter of Architects
Watch Sam react to the world famous Lambgoat comments.