NewsJune 29, 2021 9:18 AM ET3,441 views

Signs Of The Swarm announce new album, debut new song

Official press release: U.S. modern deathcore heavyweights Signs Of The Swarm have unveiled new single/video "Totem" and announced the release of forthcoming album, Absolvere, out September 24 via Unique Leader. Watch the video to "Totem" here: "Totem" concisely showcases Signs Of The Swarm's talent for inventive brutality and infectious hooks, and serves as the perfect taster for Absolvere. Drummer and producer Bobby Crow comments: "'Totem' is a solid cross section of what to expect from Absolvere. Crushing riffs collide with insane drumming, all layered underneath explosive yet memorable vocals. We turned Dave (vocals) up in the mix, yet it doesn't take away from the musicality at all; it complements it. Oh yeah, and this is far from the heaviest track on the album, so get ready." On the video, vocalist David Simonich continues: "I'm incredibly proud not only of the music and lyrics but also the video we did with Eric DiCarlo of SquareUp Studios. I get super involved with the visual aspect of our videos. In this case, I worked on the burning book, body paint and hands. The hands grasping at me is a metaphor for us being pulled in different directions. The book is a reference to the line 'bled my blood in the pages,' which highlights us pouring our life into the band. The fire symbolizes how difficult dedication to the band makes managing the rest of our life. We wouldn't have it any other way, though." On fourth LP Absolvere, Signs of the Swarm are bleak without being blackened, smashing without being slam, and downtempo as a choice rather than a stylistic confine. They contrast that with some of the most brutal moments in their seven-year career, with riffs more punishing than pensive and a rhythm section that frames them in creatively cacophonic ways. Above it all, they're utilising vocalist David Simonich's monstrous range in a much fuller capacity than on his debut, 2019's Vital Deprivation. That transitional album found the band experimenting to re-find their footing. Though the addition of guitarist Jeff Russo could suggest growing pains, they sound more confident than ever with Simonich's former Improvidence bandmate sliding right in. Simonich roars about the real (loved ones struggling with addiction, submitting one's self wholly to art despite negativity swirling about) and the surreal; he or his characters beg for the release of death only to be denied. The album's finishing touch is Ben Duerr (Shadow of Intent) and Alex Erian (Despised Icon) joining the band for guest vocals. On the album, Bobby Crow continues: "Absolvere makes good on the musicality we were striving for on Vital Deprivation and combines it with the eerie atmosphere and brutality on our first two albums. We added a myriad of new sounds, techniques and vocal styles as we collectively composed each song from the ground-up." Absolvere track listing: 01. Hymns ov Invocation 02. Boundless Manifestations 03. Dreaming Desecration 04. Totem 05. Nameless 07. Revelations ov a Silent King 08. Hollow Prison (ft. Alex Erian) 09. Blood Seal (ft. Ben Duerr) 10. Death Whistle

Related News

Lambgoat Comment Reacts: Caleb Shomo of Beartooth
Watch Caleb react to the world famous Lambgoat comments.

Lambgoat Comment Reacts: Sam Carter of Architects
Watch Sam react to the world famous Lambgoat comments.