NewsJune 16, 2021 3:01 PM ET5,953 views

Ov Sulfur announce debut EP, share track ft. Tim Lambesis

Official press release: Ov Sulfur have announced their debut EP, Oblivion, out August 6. The unveiling comes with the release of its title track, featuring guest vocals from Tim Lambesis (As I Lay Dying, Austrian Death Machine). This will be former Suffokate vocalist Ricky Hoover's first release in a decade. The new single being the EP's title track makes total sense as both its magnum opus and the first track written with both guitarists together. The coalescing of their styles and talents results in the most sublimely sinister blackened deathcore yet from the quintet. It continues their trend of brutal blackened deathcore, tempered with catchy yet brawny melodies in the choruses, as well as epic orchestrations. Of the latest song, Hoover says, "Oblivion chronicles the undoing of our world when religious zealots militarize their faith. It was rad having my friend Tim on the track. We reconnected recently, when he realized we have had similar body transformations: from twigs to tree trunks haha. He went toe-to-toe with me in terms of brutality, which was completely at odds with the week we had hanging out. My kids call him Uncle Tim now!" Hoover and Lambesis first met when they both performed at the memorial show for Suicide Silence's Mitch Lucker. In fact, Hoover's performance of "Bludgeoned to Death" was his last time on stage. However, the band is about to change that with an unveiled mini-tour around the Oblivion EP's release. More dates are coming. Oblivion track listing: 1. An Omen 2. Doomhead 3. Bathe in the Flame 4. Behind the Hand of God 5. Lost 6. Oblivion ft. Tim Lambesis Tour dates: 8/6 Las Vegas, NV @ Backstage Bar & Billiards 8/7 Tucson, AZ @ The Edge Bar 8/8 Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge

Related News

Top Fifteen Stories on Lambgoat in 2022
A look at the most-viewed news stories in the metal and hardcore scene during the year 2022.

Top Ten Stories on Lambgoat in December 2022
Pantera performed with its new line up for the first time, It Dies Today announced a reunion, and more