Home > News > View

The Drowned God premiere song, set to release new album

Sunday, February 14, 2021 10:59 AM PT

Official press release:

Philadelphia's blackgaze band The Drowned God — Cody Golob, Brandon Baun, Lucas Dunn, Dan Scanlon, and Josh Mitchell — have returned with a brand new album, Pale Home, out March 26 via Solid State Records.

The band has just dropped the video for the vicious and visceral new single "I Met You." Watch it here:

Since their inception in 2015, The Drowned God have been known for creating sonic stories wrapped in chaos. In its first two projects, Moonbearer and I'll Always Be The Same, the band introduces and then continues to examine a character swimming through seas of love, loss, and depression. The Drowned God dive deep into a lyrical well of emotion while hovering somewhere between black metal and hardcore. Their complex blend of heavy yet ethereal instrumentation prevents them from being limited by genre buzzwords.

Their newest release, Pale Home, is a 10-track opus that finds its character swallowed up by paranoia in a purgatory afterlife. The record pummels, harnessing the more traditional style of The Drowned God's earlier catalog.

With low tones and shrieking melodies, Pale Home encapsulates everything The Drowned God are known for — while sinking even deeper into a pain that can only be understood through its cathartic instrumentation. The vocals drip with desperation and grit, showcasing a band capable of harnessing and channeling deep, creative expression. Listen close within the walls of the chaos and hear subtle nods to their history, paying homage to the previous records and their influences.

Pale Home track listing:

01. I Met You
02. Buried in the Room
03. Awake in the Mourning
04. Without Ceremony
05. Near Spanish Lake
06. And It Was Weeping
07. All Haunted
08. Gnashing of Teeth
09. Bleeding Nature
10. You Remained Silent

Related News Stories