Home > News > View

Autarkh announce new album, debut first single

Thursday, January 14, 2021 9:46 AM PT

Official press release:

Dutch extreme metal outfit Autarkh will release their debut full-length, Form in Motion, on March 12. The album tracklist and details can be found below. In conjunction with this announcement, the band is now sharing the chaotic first single, "Turbulence." Listen at this location:

To misquote Allen Ginsburg "the circle Dodecahedron is broken. But with death comes rebirth." Autarkh takes a radical approach to their musical assault, consuming the listener with dizzying maelstroms of chaos. 'Form In Motion' embodies the word "extreme," putting forth an intrusive battery of blistering guitars, pummeling drums, spastic math metal salvos and cacophonous electronics that culminates in one of the most robust and daring debut records metal has seen yet.

Autarkh founder Michel Nienhuis comments: "'Turbulence' is a song about an ongoing realization and understanding of internal conflict. Change is necessary and inevitable but seems unattainable and out of range. 'Turbulence' is the first full blown song of the album and is quite representative of the Autarkh sound – up-tempo blasts versus downtempo grooves, locking harmonies versus chaotic dissonance and ethereal layers versus dark growls. This visualizer is the result of a first experiment of our producer and sound designer Joris Bonis with his analog oscilloscopes from the 1970's, that generate images based on audio. We invite you to join in on this new chapter of our musical evolution."

Form in Motion track listing:

01. Primitive Constructs
02. Turbulence
03. Cyclic Terror
04. Impasse
05. Introspectrum
06. Lost To Sight
07. Metacognition
08. Clouded Aura
09. Alignment
10. Zeit ist nur eine Illusion

Related:  Season Of Mist

Related News Stories