Home > News > Article

Wolf King announce new album, debut lead single

Sunday, November 22, 2020 8:06 AM PT / 2,778 views

Official press release: Wolf King are back with a new album, titled The Path of Wrath. The follow up to their blistering 2018 release, Loyal To The Soil, confirms the Bay Area blackened heavy metal band have lost none of their bite. The Path of Wrath is a well crafted twelve track opus, set for release via Prosthetic Records on March 5, 2021. The band have today released the album's lead single, "Sanctuary," on streaming services as well as premiering an accompanying music video via Decibel Magazine. Filmed by Vance Valenzuela during their March, 2020 tour with Vale of Pnath. Of the album and new single the band comment, "The Path of Wrath tells of a collective journey through the turmoils and tribulations of life. Filmed during our last tour in March with Vale of Pnath, Sanctuary takes on the perspective of realizing that the only way to escape this wretched world is through death's cold hands. We're born without choice, forced to endure suffering, and find clarity through lifelessness." The Path of Wrath tells real life tales of existential struggles and explorations of life and death. This abrasive take on mortality and the afterlife traverses themes of judgement, salvation, and looking 'beyond the veil'. As they pick over the weight of sin and uncover the burdens of both damnation and forgiveness, ripples of pure darkness infiltrate every crevice of the album. The band's sound is captured in its most natural and unrestrained form, thanks to recording by Cody Guentes at both Prairie Sun Recordings and Rapture Recordings in California, with mixing and mastering was handled by Jack Shirley at The Atomic Garden, rounding out a full and rich sounding album perfectly. Few do blackened heavy metal better than Wolf King. For an uncompromising, filth-drenched, smoke-infused take on the genre, The Path of Wrath delivers the goods and then some. The Path of Wrath track listing: 01. River of Light 02. Messenger of Death 03. Wandering Soul 04. Triumph of the Slain 05. Sanctuary 06. The Oath 07. The Path of Wrath 08. Incantation 09. Grief Portrait 10. Beholder 11. Holy Serpent 12. Eternal Hunger

Related News