Home > News > View

Calligram sign with Prosthetic Records, announce new album

Thursday, February 13, 2020 6:33 PM PT

Official press release:

Prosthetic Records has signed London-based multi-national quintet Calligram, who have today announced details of their upcoming album. The first track to be released from the album is titled "Anedonia" and is available to listen to alongside an accompanying video via Metal Sucks. The album, The Eye Is The First Circle, will be released on April 10 and is available to pre-order now.

The music video is part one of two, shot in location in London.

Ardo Cotones (drums): "I thought we'd try and create something a little different to the usual aspects of classic metal videos; fast camera movements, fast edits and stories intertwined with the band playing. So the band on this short film is an element of the central story. The style is inspired by the films of Pawel Pawlikowski and the French new wave as I'm a massive film nerd."

Having previously played live with the likes of Cult Leader, Jesus Piece and Conjurer, Calligram caught the eye of Prosthetic Records in 2019. The label's E.J Johantgen comments: "Calligram are one of the most thought-provoking bands to come around in some time. I can't wait for the world to see what they have been creating."

The band also add: "We had the opportunity to sign to the label that released Trap Them, Wolf King, Funeral Chic, Kylesea & Lamb of fucking God – no fucking brainer!"

The Eye Is The First Circle track listing

1. Carne
2. Serpe
3. Vivido Perire
4. La Cura
5. Kenosis
6. Anedonia
7. Pensiero Debole
8. Un dramma vuoto e insanabile

Related News Stories