Home > News > View

Neaera reform, set to release first new album in 7 years

Monday, December 16, 2019 9:51 AM PT

Four years after disbanding, German death metal group Neaera have reformed and will soon release a new album. Its first single can be heard now (see below).

Neaera's return was initially sparked when the band played two exclusive shows in 2018. "We have been overwhelmed by the reactions," comments singer Benjamin Hilleke. "None of us was expecting that and it was the moment when the fire was de-fact again!"

The band's new self-titled album will arrive on February 28 through Metal Blade Records. A video for the new track "Torchbearer" is available here:

Neaera was mixed and masterd by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Heaven Shall Burn). "Hansen already did a great job with our albums 'Let The Tempest Come' and 'Armamentarium'. This is exactly the sound we wanted to have back on this album," says guitarist Tobias Buck.

Launched in 2003, Neaera's most recent album, Ours is the Storm, was released in 2013.

Neaera track listing:

01. (Un)drowned
02. Catalyst
03. False Shepherds
04. Resurrection of Wrath
05. Carriers
06. Rid the Earth of the Human Virus
07. Sunset of Mankind
08. Lifeless
09. Eruption in Reverse
10. Torchbearer
11. Deathless

Related News Stories