Home > News > Article

Caspian announce new album, debut new song

Thursday, November 14, 2019 12:18 PM PT / 2,138 views
Official press release: Caspian, the symphonic Massachusetts-based band who have been dubbed "the most regal of the instrumental new rock school" (Pitchfork) and post-rock cosmonauts (Spin), return with their first album in over four years, releasing On Circles on January 24 via Triple Crown Records. The band gives fans an early preview of the eight-song, 46-minute album, streaming the song "Flowers of Light": "I've grown weary of reading about bands discuss the renewing, rehabilitative properties their most recent [album] has had on them," says guitarist/keyboardist Philip Jamieson of the mindset the band had going into recording On Circles. "They incur corrosion, come close to running out of gas, descend into the dark abyss, and finally emerge on the other side with a record that has given them crystal clear perspective and a confident path forward. On Circles is not that record." Instead, this majestic collision of post-rock, metal, shoegaze, electronics, noise, minimalism and ambient music is an existential meditation, an acceptance of the cyclical nature of both life and career. Recorded at Studio 4 in Conshohocken, PA by producer Will Yip (Code Orange, Defeater, Quicksand, Turnstile), On Circles marks the most organic writing and recording sessions in Caspian's 15-year history. Together for four weeklong songwriting sessions, the band opted for music gleaming with visceral impact instead of over-thought tangles, over-arching concepts and drawn-out crescendos. On Circles track listing: 1. Wildblood 2. Flowers of Light 3. Nostalgist (feat. Kyle Durfey) 4. Divison Blues 5. Onsra 6. Collapser 7. Ishmael 8. Circles on Circles The news of On Circles' impending release finds Caspian preparing for the most extensive touring the sextet has done in recent years: heading to China in December, followed by the band's first visit to Western North America in three years and a newly announced swing down the East Coast. Newly announced tour dates: 3/31 Toronto, ON @ Lee's Palace 4/1 Buffalo, NY @ Rec Room 4/5 Woodstock, NY @ Colony 4/6 Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer 4/8 New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge 4/9 Washington, DC @ Black Cat 4/10 Richmond, VA @ Gallery 5 4/11 Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle Tavern 4/12 Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall 4/14 Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5 4/15 Orlando, FL @ The Abbey 4/17 Nashville, TN @ Exit In 4/18 Louisville, KY @ Diamond Pub & Billiard Concert Hall 4/19 Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups

Related News