Home > News > View

Prosthetic Records signs Paladin

Thursday, April 11, 2019 7:31 PM PT

Official press release:

Atlanta power thrashers Paladin have officially announced their signing to Prosthetic Records along with the debut of their valiant, thundering power-metal opus, Ascension slated for May 17th release. Pre-orders for the new album are live right now and today, Paladin has partnered up with MetalSucks to issue the first face shredder off the new album. Watch the official video for "Shoot for the Sun" now:

The video for "Shoot for the Sun" was directed by David Parham and edited by Scott Taysom.

"We are very excited to announce our signing with Prosthetic Records, a label that truly believes in the potential of the band. Prosthetic were literally at the top of our list of labels to work with, so the fact that it's actually happening and that they're stoked about our music makes ME stoked! Steve and the rest of the guys (and girl) have been great and it's been a huge help to all of us in the band. We signed with them in the Fall of last year and they have been nothing but pleasant to work with. After some unforeseen delays completely beyond our control, we are finally ready to release our debut album, "Ascension," a 49 minute onslaught of blistering Power Thrash incorporating influences from 80's Metal to Melodic Death Metal. The first single "Shoot for the Sun" is perhaps the most straightforward song on the album. It's also the hardest to perform both vocally and instrumentally. It starts fast and stays fast, but it's got some good melodies and a very MegaMan-inspired lead section toward the end. The music video for it was shot in the live room of Mastodon's new recording studio. Lyrically, it's about following your dreams. Cliche, but fitting!" states Paladin guitarist Alex Parra.

Fronted by master songwriter Taylor Washington, a stalwart of the Atlanta metal scene, (he's also touring guitarist with Arsis) and featuring Alex Parra on guitar, Andy McGraw on bass/vocals, and Nathan McKinney on drums; Paladin is on a mission to bring some European flavor to the Atlanta metal scene with soaring vocals, harsh rasps, catchy melodies, and fiery guitar work coalesced into their own undeniable style.

Ascension track listing:

01. Awakening
02. Divine Providence
03. Carpe Diem
04. Call of the Night
05. Black Omen
06. Fall From Grace
07. Bury The Light
08. Shoot for the Sun
09. Vagrant
10. Dawn of Rebirth
11. Genesis

Related News Stories