Home > News > View

Venom Prison announce new album, debut first single

Friday, February 15, 2019 4:34 PM PT

Official press release:

Venom Prison have today announced details of their second studio release, titled Samsara. The ten-track album will be released on March 15th via Prosthetic Records; the first track, "Uterine Industrialisation," is streaming now on all available platforms. Samsarais available to pre-order now.

Watch the video for "Uterine Industrialisation" here:

Subscribe to Lambgoat on  

Having named the album Samsara - after the Buddhist concept of being reborn into a never-ending cycle of suffering - the rising death metal outfit have laid their cards out on the table from the word go. Musically, the album is as abrasive as we have come to expect from this UK based five-piece; as frenetic as the debut but delivered with a power up of confidence in their delivery.

Themes and topics explored in the album's lyrics are more personal than on their debut, Animus; vocalist, Larissa Stupar, examines her own interpretation and experiences of suffering, as well as navigating broader societal concepts. It is a political thread of fury that delivers a lashing in the direction of human trafficking, capital punishment, and - as in the case of the first single, "Uterine Industrialisation" - forced surrogacy.

Recorded in Summer 2018 at Vagrant Studio, Southport, UK, Samsara was produced by Tom Dring (Dawn Ray'd, Dragged Into Sunlight) and Arthur Rizk (Code Orange, Power Trip). The work of both audio engineers highlights the dynamics and depth of the biting aggression present throughout Samsara. The resulting album is a contrasting and confrontational offer that does not hold back.

The album artwork was created by Eliran Kantor.

Samsara track listing:

01. Matriphagy
02. Megillus & Leana
03. Uterine Industrialisation
04. Self Inflicted Violence
05. Deva's Enemy
06. Asura's Realm
07. Sadistic Rituals
08. Implementing The Metaphysics Of Morals
09. Dukkha
10. Naraka

Related News Stories