Home > News > View

At The Gates details new album

Monday, February 26, 2018 8:33 AM PT

At The Gates - To Drink From The Night Itself cover

Melodic death metal veterans At The Gates have issued further details regarding their forthcoming album, To Drink From The Night Itself, which will be available on May 18 through Century Media Records.

The artwork was created by Costin Chioreanu and can be viewed above. Frontman Tomas Lindberg had this to say about it:

"It has once again been an absolute pleasure working creativily with Costin. We had a lot of ideas for what we wanted to get across with the art this time around. Overall they were, not surprisingly, related to the general concept of the record. What is great with Costin is that he understands the band. He knows what we are and where we come from. And me and him also have a strong artistic connection. I have never met anyone that goes so deep into the world of my lyrics and concepts. When I first wrote to him describing my ideas, I was worried that my remarks were perhaps too long and too confusing, only to get back an even longer and very inspired response… The inspiration for the actual front cover piece is taken from the Pergamon Altar, on display at the Pergamon museum in Berlin. It is of course linked closely to the concept that the whole record is based upon, but more on that later. But I will throw a name out there, for the interested ones; Peter Weiss."

The album's first single will be launched with a video shot by Patric Ullaeus (Dimmu Borgir, In Flames) in the coming days

To Drink From The Night Itself track listing:

01. Der Widerstand
02. To Drink From The Night Itself
03. A Stare Bound In Stone
04. Palace Of Lepers
05. Daggers Of Black Haze
06. The Chasm
07. In Nameless Sleep
08. The Colours Of The Beast
09. A Labyrinth Of Tombs
10. Seas Of Starvation
11. In Death They Shall Burn
12. The Mirror Black

Related News Stories