Home > News > View

Decrepit Birth announce new album, premiere song

Friday, May 19, 2017 5:39 PM PT

Official press release:

Santa Cruz CA's tech-death masters, Decrepit Birth, will release their first album in seven years on July 21 via Nuclear Blast Records (North America) and Agonia Records (Europe). Listen to "Epigenetic Triplicity" from their upcoming album Axis Mundi, and check out the cover artwork by Dan Seagrave (Entombed, Suffocation, Dismember), here:

Subscribe to Lambgoat on  

Recorded at three different studios over the course of a year, Axis Mundi sounds incredible. The clarity, the power, the musicianship, and the brutality aren't vying for attention. They're in absolute harmony. The guitars, tracked by guitarist Matt Sotelo at his home studio, are razor sharp yet spine-snappingly heavy. The drums, tracked by Ryan Forsyth at Private Ear Studios in Winnipeg, Canada, are genre-defining, recalling what Sean Reinert, Gene Hoglan, and Steve Flynn did for Death and Atheist, respectively. And the bass— tracked by bassist Sean Martinez, also at his home studio—has a great deep-end against the ceaselessly wicked rhythms. Tracks like "Hieroglyphic," "Spirit Guide," and "The Sacred Geometry" wouldn't have crushed skulls and blown minds if it wasn't for the accomplished mixing and mastering of Stefano Morabito at 16th Cellar Studios.

Axis Mundi track listing:

01. Vortex of Infinity - Axis Mundi
02. Spirit Guide
03. The Sacred Geometry
04. Hieroglyphic
05. Transcendental Paradox
06. Mirror of Humanity
07. Ascendant
08. Epigenetic Triplicity
09. Embryogenesis

Related News Stories