NewsApril 12, 2017 9:55 AM ET28,914 views

River Black announce new album, premiere song

River Black
photo by Scott Kinkade
In February 2016, Burnt By The Sun fans were thrilled to learn that the majority of its members had reconvened in a band called River Black. Launched by guitarist John Adubato (Burnt By The Sun, Black Army Jacket) and drummer Dave Witte (Burnt By The Sun, Municipal Waste, Black Army Jacket, etc.), the pair eventually brought vocalist Mike Olender (Burnt By The Sun, For The Love Of, Endeavor) and bass player Brett Bamberger (Revocation, Publicist UK, etc.) into the fold and entered the studio with Eric Rachel (The Black Dahlia Murder, Municipal Waste) to track their debut album. Fast forward a year, and River Black is ready to unveil both their debut album and their first new song. Specifically, the band's self-titled debut will hit stores on July 7 through Season of Mist, and we're exclusively premiering its first single, titled "Low," below. Commenting on the track, Mike Olender had this to say:
"'Low' is an expression of horror at how religion can become twisted and manipulated by charlatans and demagogues. It was inspired by a news report I heard about a journalist who spent some time with the now-deceased Isis leader 'Johnny Jihad'. It revealed how this man used brutality with the purpose of inspiring others with similarly twisted minds. He used videos of his actions as recruiting tools. I was struck by the thought that there are people out there who not only wouldn't be repelled by these horrific videos, but actually excited and inspired by the images of this man gleefully sawing off the heads of the orange-clad victims kneeling before him. Faiths have always had these characters throughout history, but it is surreal to realize we are living in such dark historic times."
Subscribe to Lambgoat on  
River Black can be pre-ordered now here, and its track listing is as follows: 01. Jaws 02. Honor 03. Low 04. Shipwreck 05. River Black 06. South x South 07. Boat 08. Move 09. #Victim 10. Haunt 11. Sink 12. Everywhere

Related Lambgoat Video content:

Related News

#112 Josh Middleton of Sylosis

#111 Brendon Small of Metalocalypse/Dethklok