Home > News > View

The Melvins announce double album, short film

Thursday, April 06, 2017 10:54 AM PT

Official press release:

The Melvins return with a double album, A Walk With Love and Death, on July 7 via Ipecac Recordings.

The dual albums find the trio of Buzz Osborne, Dale Crover and Steve McDonald showcasing two distinct sides to the band's music: Death, a proper Melvins' release and Love, the score to the Jesse Nieminen directed, self-produced short also titled 'A Walk With Love and Death'. A release date for the short has not been announced yet but a trailer has been made available:

Subscribe to Lambgoat on  

"This was a huge undertaking," explained band ringleader Buzz Osborne. "All three things: the album, the soundtrack and the film are benchmarks for us."

Drummer Dale Crover added, "A Walk With Love and Death is one giant, dark, moody, psychotic head trip! Not for the faint of heart. You'll sleep with the lights on after listening."

The albums, which include guests Joey Santiago (The Pixies), Teri Gender Bender (Le Butcherettes/Crystal Fairy) and Anna Waronker (That Dog), were self-produced with engineer Toshi Kosai.

A North American tour is in the works for this Summer with dates to be announced soon.

A Walk With Love and Death track list:

01 Aim High
02 Queen Powder Party
03 Street Level St. Paul
04 The Hidden Joice
05 Give It To Me
06 Chicken Butt
07 Eat Yourself Out
08 Scooba
09 Halfway to the Bakersfield Mall
10 Pacoima Normal
11 Park Head
12 T-Burg
13 Track Star
14 The Asshole Bastard

01. Black Heath
02. Sober-delic (acid only)
03. Euthanasia
04. What's Wrong With You
05. Edgar the Elephant
06. Christ Hammer
07. Flaming Creature
08. Cactus Party
09. Cardboro Negro

A Walk With Love and Death pre-orders will launch soon, with the collection available as a double-CD, on vinyl and digitally.

Related News Stories