Home > News > View

Merrimack album set for release, new song online

Sunday, March 12, 2017 6:11 PM PT

Official press release:

French black metal cultists Merrimack have unveiled new details of their forthcoming new full-length. The album, titled Omegaphilia, will be released by Season of Mist on June 9th worldwide. An extreme, relentless take on pitch-black metal, "Omegaphilia" is available for pre-order across multiple CD and LP formats at the Season of Mist E-Shop.

Merrimack are streaming the first new track from Omegaphilia. The track, an abrasive, dissonant opus is streaming now at No Clean Singing.

Subscribe to Lambgoat on  

Regarding the new track, Merrimack comments: "For this song, as on the whole album, we wanted to come back to something more rooted in the 90's. With a less complex structure, and a sound not as modern and claustrophobic as on our latest albums, 'Apophatic Weaponry' still has our characteristic moody atmosphere with some crawling mid-tempos riffs. This is especially noticeable on the second half of the track. Our lyrics are dealing with the special connection between beings and their faith, even though it is constructed on a void trying to fill in another vacant space of nothingness. The divine cannot be observed, demonstrated, except by its consequences. In the end, this is the definition of faith as opposed to reason. This concept of negative theology is a mystical approach towards the divine that attempts to describe it through the impossibility of describing it. Eckhart. Jacob Böhme and most of the German mystics tried to increase their faith with such notions."

Track list:

1. Cauterizing Cosmos
2. The Falsified Son
3. Apophatic Weaponry
4. Gutters of Pain
5. Sights in the Abysmal Lure
6. Cesspool Coronation
7. At the Vanguard of Deception

Related News Stories