Home > News > View

Junius to release new album in March

Sunday, January 15, 2017 7:43 AM PT

Official press release:

Mesmerizing post-metal outfit Junius are excited to reveal their first new music in over three years with their new full-length album Eternal Rituals for the Accretion of Light (ERAL) due out March 3, 2017 via Prosthetic Records.

The album marks the completion of their conceptual trilogy which began in 2009 with their evoking LP The Martyrdom of a Catastrophist, depicted by Rolling Stone as "a perfect hybrid of Neurosis and The Smiths" followed by 2011's Reports From The Thresholds of Death. Junius' latest release, the critically acclaimed 2014 EP Days of the Fallen Sun, was lauded by Pitchfork as their "strongest and most sensuous work to date".

Recorded, mixed and mastered with longtime friend and producer Will Benoit (Caspian, Rosetta, Ellie Goulding), Eternal Rituals for the Accretion of Light takes inspiration from Elisabeth Haich's autobiography "Initiation," whilst touching on topics including karma, reincarnation and spiritual development across its ten melodically divine tracks. Following the departure of former member Mike Repasch-Nieves (guitars), the album was entirely written and performed by vocalist/guitarist Joseph E. Martinez, excluding drums/percussion which were completed by Dana Filloon. The album also features guest appearances from Drew Speziale (Circle Takes the Square) and Gian Minardi (General Public).

01. March of The Samsara
02. Beyond the Pale Society
03. A Mass for Metaphysicians
04. Clean The Beast
05. All That Is, Is of The One
06. The Queen's Constellation
07. Telepaths & Pyramids
08. Masquerade in Veils
09. Heresy of the Free Spirit
10. Black Sarcophagus

Related News Stories