Home > News > View

Planes Mistaken For Stars announce new album 'Prey'

Thursday, August 25, 2016 9:38 AM PT

Official press release:

Planes Mistaken For Stars formed in Peoria, Illinois in 1997. From the outset, they were an artistic anomaly; carrying both a worn rust belt heart a warm midwestern soul. Collectively they combined different kinds of musical rebellion: hardcore aggression, punk energy, and gritty rock n' roll spirit into their own special noise, ultimately laying the blueprint for today's emotional punk rock resurgence. Planes Mistaken For Stars released three full-length albums in that decade: 2001's Fuck With Fire, 2004's Up In Them Guts and 2006's Mercy, before quietly disbanding in 2007. In 2010, Planes Mistaken For Stars reunited for The Fest in Gainesville, Florida. In 2012, the band also reunited for a successful East Coast Tour. Since then, they re-released their landmark album Mercy last year on Deathwish Inc. and have been quietly and persistently working on new music.

Their long awaited fourth studio album, Prey, will be released on October 21st, 2016 (Deathwish). Produced and engineered by Sanford Parker (Wovenhand, Leviathan, Yob), Prey is a beautifully haunting return to form for Planes Mistaken For Stars. In need of isolation to finish writing the album, founder Gared O'Donnell took to the road alone. Instead of finding a predictable muse, he found himself driving deep into the crumbling heart of middle America. There, Gared took up residence in decrepit motels, finding inspiration in the descending darkness surrounding him.

Prey features ten songs that are seemingly instant Planes Mistaken For Stars classics; particularly "F*cking Tenderness" (listen now on AV Club) - it's multi-layered, melodic, and infectious in a way that only they can be. Prey signals that the figurative slumber is over for this off kilter and brilliant cult status band.

In support of Prey, Planes Mistaken For Stars have announced a handful of tour dates in the U.S. from October 26th to November 4th. Stay tuned for more song premieres and information to come soon.

10/26 Chicago, IL @ Township
10/27 Cincinnati, OH @ Northside Yacht Club
10/28 Savannah, GA @ Dollhouse Productions
10/30 Gainesville, FL @ The Wooly - THE FEST
10/31 Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
11/1 Nashville, TN @ The End
11/2 St. Louis, MO @ Fubar
11/3 Oklahoma City, OK @ 89th Street Collective
11/4 Austin, TX @ Sound On Sound Fest

Prey track listing:

01. Dementia Americana
02. Til' It Clicks
03. Riot Season
04. Fucking Tenderness
05. She Who Steps
06. Clean Up Mean
07. Black Rabbit
08. Pan In Flames
09. Enemy Blinds
10. Alabaster Cello

Related News Stories