Home > News > View

Unique Leader Records to release new Cognitive LP

Tuesday, August 23, 2016 12:59 PM PT / 1,477 views
Official press release: Garden State death metal faction Cognitive is the latest addition to Unique Leader Records' expanding roster of sonic malevolence. The band will release their new full-length late this Fall. Issues Cognitive of their union with the label, "It is with extreme pleasure that we announce our signing with Unique Leader Records! It is an honor and a privilege to be a part of the label that many bands have called home such as Deeds Of Flesh, Fallujah, Psycroptic, The Kennedy Veil, Decrepit Birth, Ingested, Inanimate Existence, and so many more! This has been a long journey for us. We've gone through vehicle breakdowns, member shifts, two full United States tours, countless week-long-plus tours, Las Vegas Death Fest, Building Temples From Deathfest, and recording our second full-length album all in the last year. We couldn't be more excited to share our newest release with our long-time local fans as well as with the people all around the world who haven't heard us. "Working with Unique Leader Records is a dream come true from five New Jersey and Philly guys who want nothing more than to make you mosh, hardcore dance, or headbang to the sound of our music. We hope this album will live up to our long standing reputation of brutal death metal!" Entitled Deformity, Cognitive's sophomore full-length was recorded at Full Force Studio by Joe Cincotta (Suffocation, Internal Bleeding, Dehumanized) and mastered at West West Side Studios by Alan Douches (Cannibal Corpse, Converge, Black Breath, Mastodon et al), and boasts nine tracks of unrepentant heaviness. "We poured a lot of blood, sweat, and tears into this album," the band elaborates, "and the emotion really came through within the songs as well as our approaches to each song. It's a concept album based around New Jersey's folklore, but we still left it open for some interpretation." Deformity will see release through Unique Leader on October 28th, 2016. Track teasers and preorders to be unveiled in the weeks to come. Deformity track listing: 1. Awakening The Miscreation 2. Birthing The Deformity 3. Haunted Justice 4. Beneath The Floorboards 5. The Forgotten 6. Dead Soil 7. The Cull 8. Wraiths 9. Merciless Forest

Related: Unique Leader Records, Alan Douches, Joe Cincotta, Cognitive

Related News