NewsMay 6, 2016 10:32 AM ET3,050 views

Frameworks announce new album, premiere song

Official press release: Gainesville, FL's post-hardcore band Frameworks have announced that their debut album for Deathwish, titled Smother, will be released on CD, LP and digital formats on July 8th, 2016. The album's explosive first single, "Tangled," has premiered today on Stereogum and offers a compelling and cathartic first look at Smother as a whole. Frameworks vocalist Luke Pate commented on the song: "'Tangled' was written about overthinking and how it sometimes, especially with music, can impassion the outcome. The song started off as a thought experiment inspired by a line from one of Seneca's books. 'There is no person so severely punished, as those who subject themselves to the whip of their own remorse.' With most of Frameworks' previous material, none of it felt entirely complete. Songs would linger around the 99% completion range with the penance that something could have been tracked or phrased better if there was more time. I wrote Tangled the night before recording ended for Smother. Forcing no opportunity to over-analyze in the most excruciating way possible. I found the process felt whole and the song itself get beaten into submission." Smother was recorded earlier this year by Matt McClellan (Being As An Ocean, O' Brother) at Glow In The Dark Studios and mastered by Brad Boatright (Converge, Self Defense Family) at Audiosiege Mastering. Smother is a massive leap forward for Frameworks; the album pulses with hook-laden melodious riffs and moving emotional crescendos, all of it gushing with a rare creative beauty and maturity that will appeal to listeners from all corners of the underground music world. This dynamic new album follows the band's 2014 LP, Loom (Topshelf Records) and the two-song Time Spent EP released earlier this year. Both were well-received releases that showed the band broadening their approach through the use of darker, more experimental instrumentation leading to their artistic peak that is now Smother. Smother track listing: 01. Fear Of Missing Out 02. Smother 03. Peculiar 04. Purge 05. Song Of Myself 06. Tinnitus 07. Marathon 08. Interlude 09. Trite 10. Tangled 11. The New Narcissistic American Dream

Related News

Turnstile announce North American fall tour
Turnstile will headline a six-week tour later this year.

Video: 10-year-old girl covers Spiritbox on America's Got Talent
Not only was Miss Harper on network TV last night — she also performed with Spiritbox in London.