Home > News > View

Withered announce new album, premiere song

Thursday, March 3, 2016 12:54 PM PT

Official press release:

Withered, the critically acclaimed death metal band from Atlanta, have revealed details of their forthcoming album. The new album, titled Grief Relic, will be released by Season of Mist worldwide on May 27 and pre-orders are available

Withered have released the first new track from Grief Relic. The track titled "Husk" is streaming now at Decibel Magazine.

Regarding the track, Withered guitarist/vocalist Mike Thompson tells Decibel:

"Having been 5 years since our last release, we felt the need to do something very intentional with Grief Relic. You know that sense of timelessness you get when you go back and listen to some 20 year old metal record and it's just as relevant now as it ever was? It's not really about nostalgia and definitely not about rehashing anything. Just the need to continue carving out a sonic identity like the great bands of the late 80's and early 90's. We focused on song arrangements and an album structure that would offer a real emotional experience and, of course, we loaded every song with a lot of typical Withered twists and turns. It's progress for the sake of progress without abandoning our identity. 'Husk' was the first song we wrote for this album and it does a pretty good job of highlighting the kind of style traversing that can be expected from Grief Relic."

The artwork was painted by acclaimed artist Paul Romano (Mastodon, Baroness) and the track list for Grief Relic can be found below.

Track list:

1. Leathery Rind
2. A Realm of Suffering
3. Withdraw
4. Feeble Gasp
5. Husk
6. Downward
7. Distort, Engulf
8. To Glimpse Godliness

Related News Stories