Home > News > View

Toothgrinder detail new album, premiere song

Saturday, October 17, 2015 5:37 PM PT

Official press release:

It's a busy time for New Jersey noisemakers Toothgrinder, as they have revealed the track listing, album cover, and release date for their Spinefarm Records full-length debut Nocturnal Masquerade.

"With Nocturnal Masquerade, we wanted to capture a spectrum of sound that could bring you to different places in mood and spirit. This being our first full length there was a sense of timelessness that the band was reaching for. These songs are going to make a long-lasting impact in our lives and we can't wait to share it with our fans," explains guitarist Jason Goss about the record.

Drummer Wills Weller concurs, saying, "Using sonic colors, we were able to create moods and emotions and really dig deeper into every song on this record than ever before. Not only for the listener, but also for ourselves."

The album is out January 29.

Toothgrinder have also shared the first song from Nocturnal Masquerade in the form of "The House (That Fear Built)." The track premiered over at MetalSucks today.

"We choose the opening track 'The House (That Fear Built)' as the first peek into the Nocturnal Masquerade for a few reasons. There is a lot of depth, darkness, diversity, and above all, clarity and resolution. The song foreshadows the intensity and melodic tension the rest of the album seems to exude. The track is a personal favorite of mine because it was the first song on the record where I found my groove and rhythmic capabilities which set the tone vocally and lyrically for the songs to come," says frontman Justin Matthews.

Nocturnal Masquerade track listing:

01. The House (That Fear Built)
02. Lace & Anchor
03. Coueur d'Alene
04. I Lie In Rain
05. Blue
06. The Hour Angle
07. Dance Of Damsels
08. Diamonds For Gold
09. Nocturnal Masquerade
10. Dejection/Despondency
11. Schizophrenic Jubilee
12. Waltz Of Madmen

Related News Stories