Home > News > View

Miss Fortune address future, "heavy" side project

Monday, February 16, 2015 1:24 PM PT

Last time we checked in with Miss Fortune, their singer had been arrested (and cleared), they had been dropped by their record label, and they were in search of a new label. Fast forward a few months and the group has issued an extensive update. Here you go:

We know you guys have been anxious for an update on what's going on with Miss Fortune and now is the time!

In spite of everything that's happened to our band over the past few months, it has not kept us from pushing forward with our musical goals and dreams.

When we first started Miss Fortune, we always wanted to write and create heavy music like our debut single, "The Double Threat of Danger".

As time went on, we re-assessed our goals as a band and made the decision as a team to pursue the Alternative Rock sound you hear today.

With that being said, Mikey Sawyer and Josh Kikta of Miss Fortune have started a new side-project called Northern Lights where they will be exclusively writing heavy music; including scrapped songs from the first Miss Fortune album.

Miss Fortune will continue writing our sophomore follow up to "A Spark To Believe" throughout 2015 while we continue to figure out the future of our band.

To elaborate, we are now an Independent act, free of any record label constraints, so we're taking this time to finalize some negotiations and put some real time into creating an amazing second album.

Please don't get confused, this is not a departure update!

Northern Lights is just our way of making it up to you guys while we get things figured out. Mikey & Josh are just as committed to MF as ever.

Northern Lights has entered the studio with Cameron Mizell (Memphis May Fire, Sleeping with Sirens) to produce our debut single, "Ashamed" (teaser below).

We are very proud to announce that we've signed with Eric Rushing and Mike Milford at The Artery Foundation for management!

The Official band lineup includes members of Miss Fortune x Outline in Color:
Mikey Sawyer - Vocals
Michael Skaggs - Vocals
Josh Kikta - Lead Guitar
Ghost Noise - Subtronics
Nick Taylor - Drums

Related News Stories