Home > News > View

F*cked Up to release new album in June; debut song

Tuesday, March 18, 2014 12:10 PM PT

Official press release:

If "acclaimed" and "beloved" were adjoining mountain peaks, Fucked Up would be the hammock strung between them. On June 3, 2014, they will release Glass Boys, their followup to 2011's David Comes To Life, on Matador Records.

A song from the album, "Paper The House," is available via YouTube:

The last two Fucked Up albums were sweeping, defining, monolithic gestures. On 2008's The Chemistry Of Common Life, they tested hardcore's capacity for stylistic innovation, for seven-minute songs and unconventional arrangements, and they won Canada's prestigious Polaris Music Prize in the process. With 2011's David Comes To Life, they offered up a full-blown rock opera, coming with one larger-than-life hook after another, and that made them even bigger, and further away from the Toronto hardcore scene that nurtured them.

Glass Boys isn't a retrenchment or a back-to-basics move; it's too ambitious and complex for that. But after those last two albums, it's tight and concise and direct, an album of real and direct sentiment rather than artifice.

Track listing:

01. Echo Boomer
02. Touch Stone
03. Sun Glass
04. The Art Of Patrons
05. Warm Change
06. Paper The House
07. DET
08. Led By Hand
09. The Great Divide
10. Glass Boys

Related News Stories