Home > News > View

Fit For A King to release re-recorded debut

Thursday, November 7, 2013 11:04 AM PT

Official press release:

2013 has been a big year for Tyler, TX metallers Fit For A King. The buzzed about band released their Solid State Records debut, Creation/Destruction in March and in so doing, delivered the biggest first-week sales of any debut release in Solid State history - a huge feat given the storied careers of labelmates such as Underoath, Demon Hunter, and August Burns Red.

Only 8 months later, the band has another treat for longtime fans: a completely re-recorded version of their debut album, 2011's Descendants - the very release that caused Solid State to take notice of the band in the first place.

"When we tracked Descendants originally we were a local band with an extremely limited budget and the songs just didn't turn out exactly how we wanted them to," says vocalist Ryan Kirby. "So with this re-release we set out, with the help of Solid State, to completely re-do Descendants, exactly the way we envisioned it. For old fans we believe the adjustments we made and the production quality will make it like a new release. For new listeners it will help them hear the progression we made from Descendants to Creation/Destruction. Plus adding a new song to the mix never hurts!"

The completely overhauled release features guest appearances by Memphis May Fire's Matty Mullins and Ivoryline's Jeremy Gray but, most importantly to eager Fit For A King fans - a brand-new track entitled "Keep Me Alive."

Following several years of relentless DIY touring and the well-received, original indie release of Descendents, Fit For A King are reaping the benefits of their hard work. The hotly tipped metalcore band has been elbowing its way onto the national scene as a full-time touring outfit, cultivating fans at an alarming clip with a crushingly heavy, artful take on the genre. With the newly revamped Descendents in the pipeline, Fit For A King are looking to continue to build upon their impressive surge.

Descendants track list

01. II Diluvio
02. Ancient Waters
03. Buried
04. Parallels (feat. Jeremy Gray)
05. The Architect (feat. Matty Mullins)
06. Descendants
07. Hollow Eyes
08. The Roots Within
09. Messenger, Messenger
10. Transcend
11. Unchanging
12. Keep Me Alive

Related News Stories