NewsSeptember 5, 2013 1:41 PM ET2,894 views

Meek Is Murder completes new album

Official press release: Brooklyn's Meek Is Murder have completed work on their second full-length, Everything Is Awesome Nothing Matters. The album is set for an October 22nd vinyl release on Threshold of Pain Records and a digital release via the band. For Everything Is Awesome Nothing Matters, Meek Is Murder employed the same one-two punch of a production team that crafted their 2011 full-length debut, Algorithms: producer and Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou (High On Fire, Nails) and mastering ace Alan Douches (Mastodon, Dillinger Escape Plan). A video from the recording sessions of Everything Is Awesome Nothing Matters, showing Meek Is Murder in action at Kurt Ballou's Godcity Studio, is now streaming on MetalSucks. With the first 8 songs blazing by in 7 minutes, Everything Is Awesome Nothing Matters sees Meek Is Murder channel Botch's gut-spilling noise-core and The Locust's hyperactive tech, and kick the whole shebang into steamrolling, punk rock overdrive. Furious, relentless and raw, EIANM is painfully honest and as epic as a Viking raid at dawn. The inspiration for the album comes from what guitarist/vocalist Mike Keller calls "the most trying year of my life", involving three deaths in his family, the end of a four-year relationship, the loss of all his possessions in a fire, temporary homelessness, illness, and a critically injured dog. Says Keller: "In a year like that, the temptation is there to become despondent and angry with the world. But you do what you can to get through the day and in the end you become a stronger dude for it. The truth was always there but I was finally able to make some sense of it all. Life is a paradox: it is cruel and beautiful and any meaning comes from within. Embrace your insignificance and make what you want, just because you want to experience the journey of making it. Everything is awesome. Nothing matters." Meek Is Murder is awesome. Nothing matters. The tracklist is as follows: 01. Last Year 02. Passerby 03. Dumb As Death's Head 04. Ashes & Glass 05. In the Ground 06. You Had a Horse 07. Our Dream 08. More Always More 09. Less Is More 10. Our Hope / Our Home 11. Paper Hands and the Desert Sea 12. Ghost Moth 13. Play Dead

Related News

Turnstile announce North American fall tour
Turnstile will headline a six-week tour later this year.

Video: 10-year-old girl covers Spiritbox on America's Got Talent
Not only was Miss Harper on network TV last night — she also performed with Spiritbox in London.