NewsMarch 14, 2013 5:14 PM ET3,077 views

Kayo Dot set to record new album

Official press release: Boston-born, and now New York City-based veteran avant-metallers Kayo Dot, led by Toby Driver, are set to hit the studio for their seventh album, Hubardo, this April. This album will mark the 10-year anniversary of Kayo Dot's debut and landmark release, Choirs of The Eye, and the band will trek out to Avast Studios in Seattle, Washington, with producer Randall Dunn (SunnO))), Wolves In The Throne Room, Black Mountain) returning to the helm. Hubardo is an approximately 90-minute conceptual epic double-album, with story and lyrics written by longtime lyricist and former Maudlin of the Well vocalist, Jason Byron. Musically, the album covers the spectrum of all of the band's works, from the sparse doomy elements of Choirs of The Eye, to the blast-beat, woodwind-driven Gamma Knife, the chorus-bass goth fusion of Coyote, and even lush orchestrated prog moments harkening back to the days of their previous band, Maudlin of the Well, and, as with all the band's releases, Driver and Co. venturing into new territory. The album sees a returning cast of characters with Toby Driver on Bass, Keys, Guitars and Vocals, Terran Olson on Keys and Woodwinds, Daniel Means on Woodwinds and Synth, Mia Matsumiya on violin, Tim Byrnes on Trumpet and Horn in F, the first proper studio recording with Keith Abrams on drums, and the first recording contribution of longtime live collaborator Ron Varod on Guitar. Hubardo will also feature a very special guest vocal appearance by Jason Byron - his first recorded appearance since Maudlin of the Well's 2001 albums, Bath and Leaving Your Body Map. This album will be self-released on the band's own imprint, Ice Level Music, and pre-orders will be taken to help fund the recording and travel costs. Pre-Orders will be offered in 3xLP Deluxe, Standard, and Digital-only editions, featuring limited 200g colored vinyl in triple gatefold (six huge panels of artwork), a 5-chapter poem by Jason Byron entitled The Sword Of Satan, signed poster, T-shirt, guitar pick, and sticker. The Pre-Order system is now LIVE at Here is the track listing for the album: 01. The Black Stone (~7:00) 02. Crown-In-The-Muck (~9:00) 03. Thief (~5:30) 04. Vision Adjustment To Another Wavelength (~5:00) 05. Zodelida Caosaji (To Water The Earth) (~6:00) 06. The First Matter (Saturn In The Guise Of Sadness) (~9:30) 07. The Second Operation (Lunar Water) (~10:30) 08. Floodgate (~7:00) 09. And He Built Him A Boat (~7:00) 10. Passing The River (~8:00) 11. The Wait Of The World (~18:00)

Related News

Top Fifteen Stories on Lambgoat in 2022
A look at the most-viewed news stories in the metal and hardcore scene during the year 2022.

Top Ten Stories on Lambgoat in December 2022
Pantera performed with its new line up for the first time, It Dies Today announced a reunion, and more