NewsJuly 29, 2011 2:42 PM ET4,443 views

Maylene & the Sons of Disaster album out in Sept.

Official press release: Hard rock innovators Maylene and the Sons of Disaster will release their long awaited new album Maylene and the Sons of Disaster: IV on September 27 via Ferret Music. Produced by Brian Virtue (Jane's Addiction, Deftones, Audioslave), the LP shines a spotlight on the celebrated band's sleek songcraft, virtuosic prowess and depth of musical identity. The primal-scream therapy of underground star frontman Dallas Taylor takes on a much more multidimensional sense of atmosphere and texture on the record, finding the perfect balance of heavy-meets-euphoric while the band's strong, fluid rock features big riffs, shifting tempos and a spot-on sense of balance. The new saga of Maylene and the Sons of Disaster's compelling concept R'N'R is coming September 27. "As humans, we play things so safe and everything "makes sense" or is "figured out" and is how it's supposed to be," said Taylor. "I hope it will make people question their lives and how they do things, and make people realize what they have. It is definitely a new band now with a new drive. This is the most serious thing we've ever done and the most grown-up record I've ever made in my life. I think it will surprise a lot of people who were into Maylene before.It is a very dark record, but it's the most truthful and heartfelt thing I have done in my life." The striking cover art for Maylene and the Sons of Disaster: IV was designed by Forefathers Group (Children of Bodom, In Flames, Between the Buried and Me).On the record, the band continues its focused conceptual and lyrical bent which plots Maylene as renegade outlaws from a 1920's gangster/prohibition era real-life crime family. The record's gritty musical shootouts are filled with intricate guitar riffing and whiskey drenched grooves, while the lyrics take your imagination back to a time when the exploits of gangs of criminals gripped the American people and press. The track listing for Maylene and the Sons of Disaster: IV is as follows: 01. In Dead We Dream 02. Save Me 03. Faith Healer (Bring Me Down) 04. Open Your Eyes 05. Killing Me Slow 06. Taking on Water 07. Fate Games 08. Come for You 09. Never Enough 10. Cat's Walk 11. Drought of '85 12. Off to the Laughing Place

Related News

Turnstile announce North American fall tour
Turnstile will headline a six-week tour later this year.

Video: 10-year-old girl covers Spiritbox on America's Got Talent
Not only was Miss Harper on network TV last night — she also performed with Spiritbox in London.