NewsJune 14, 2010 4:46 PM ET9,203 views

Equal Vision signs ORBS (BTBAM, etc.)

Official press release: Equal Vision Records is pleased to welcome ORBS to its roster. After three years of cross-country collaborations, the band has united to release their debut full-length album, Asleep Next to Science, which will be released on August 17th. ORBS blends progressive and experimental sounds through the creative workings of Adam Fisher and Clayton Holyoak (Fear Before), Dan Briggs (Between the Buried and Me), Ashley Ellyllon (Abigail Williams/Cradle of Filth) and Chuck Johnson (Torch Runner). Recorded at The Basement recording studio in Winston-Salem, N.C. with producer and engineer Jamie King (Between the Buried and Me, Alesana), the nine song, 66-minute album is the product of long-distance friendships linked through an appreciation for nature and music and a mutual desire to defy common song structure. By juxtaposing high energy, piano-infused choruses with a mixture of classic and space-rock interludes, the quintet breaks the mold of traditional songwriting and creates a sound all their own. Lyrically, the album transports the listener through a vivid, almost conversational, storytelling experience. Asleep Next to Science connects mind with matter as the lyrics and music unite space and sound to create a sound that simply put, is otherworldly. Asleep Next To Science: 1. Sayer Of The Law 2. A Man Of Science 3. Megoblastic Madness 4. The Northwestern Bearitories A: We The Animal 5. The Northwestern Bearitories B: Kid Cancer 6. People Will Read Again 7. Something Beautiful 8. Lost At Sea 9. Eclipsical

Related News