Home > News > View

We Came As Romans album set for release

Tuesday, September 22, 2009 9:08 PM PT

Official press release:

Michigan's We Came As Romans has set a November 3rd release date for their highly anticipated Equal Vision Records debut full-length, "To Plant A Seed." Recorded with up-and-coming producer Joey Sturgis (The Devil Wears Prada) at his Foundation Recording Studio, the ten-song follow-up to their breakout EP, Dreams, finds the band expanding their blend of pop-infused metal.

Although recorded with the same producer, there is still an intentional difference between the two albums. We Came As Romans didn’t let the fact that they are only a six-piece hold them back from achieving a more symphonic sound on To Plant A Seed. "I played the trombone from Elementary school until I graduated high school and I always took the sound of a symphonic band or an orchestra with me," explains Moore of their decision to add orchestral elements to the album such as the violins, brass, and piano interlaced throughout the album’s dynamic layers.

Not unlike the EP, the lyrics on "To Plant A Seed" reflect We Came As Romans' goal of spreading a positive message through their music. The band hopes, "when people hear the album, they might not change the way they think or the way they act right now, but hopefully we've planted that 'seed,' that thought of love, and it can grow."

The theme of the album is carried through to the artwork. Painted by acclaimed artist Paul Romano (Mastodon, Chiodos), the album cover depicts a "very innocent looking boy in which the 'seed' has been planted in his mind and it grows to his heart, out of his palms and becomes branches," describes Moore.

The band – Dave Stephens (vocals), Kyle Pavone (vocals/synth), Joshua Moore and Lou Cotton (guitar), Andy Glass (bass), and Eric Choi (drums) – will keep a busy tour schedule for the rest of 2009 that finds them on the road for several months beginning September 26th, including a week in Canada, a three week run with The Chariot, three weeks of headlining, and three weeks with friends, I See Stars.

Album track listing:

01. To Plant A Seed
02. Broken Statues
03. Intentions (ft. Tyler "Telle" Smith of The Word Alive)
04. Roads That Don't End And Views That Never Cease
05. Dreams
06. We Are The Reasons
07. Beliefs
08. I Will Not Reap Destruction
09. Searching, Seeking, Reaching, Always
10. An Ever-Growing Wonder

Related News Stories