Home > News > View

A Storm Of Light set to release new album

Tuesday, September 1, 2009 9:22 PM PT / 2,001 views
Official press release: Brooklyn, NY's own A Storm Of Light will unleash their new full-length, Forgive Us Our Trespasses on September 22nd via Neurot Recordings. The follow-up to the band's critically acclaimed debut, And We Wept The Black Ocean Within, finds its power through a dense bringing together of melodies, moods and textures, ensuring that while things are as heavy and cataclysmic as fans would expect, the devastating effects rely on interwoven melodies and graceful shifts in timbre, instead of a stream of identikit riffs. A Storm Of Light features guitarist/keyboardist/vocalist Josh Graham (Neurosis visuals, Blood And Time, Battle Of Mice), bassist/vocalist Domenic Seita (formerly of Tombs and Asea), drummer/percussionist Andy Rice (formerly of Sinking Ships) and guitarist/keyboardist Joel Hamilton (Book Of Knots, Battle Of Mice), who also recorded the album. Forgive Us Our Trespasses showcases a more refined sound and a significant broadening of scope, the band leading the listener on a millennial journey that sees the modest curls of smoke rising from nomadic campsites gradually replaced by the billowing smokestacks of industry before being cast down and consigned to the soil once more as the planet rouses from its aeon-long slumber. The record spotlights a host of carefully-chosen collaborators, including vocalist Nerissa Campbell (Primitive North), the unique talents of Jarboe (Swans, World Of Skin, J2), the otherworldly spoken word segues of singer, poet and author Lydia Lunch and the mournful strings of Carla Kihlstedt (Book Of Knots, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, 2 Foot Yard) and Marika Hughes (2 Foot Yard). Check out the song "Midnight" from Forgive Us Our Trespasses streaming at the band's official website.

Related: A Storm of Light

Related News