NewsMay 14, 2009 7:02 PM ET4,408 views

YOB completes new album

Official press release: Reunited "cosmic doom metal" band YOB has completed work on its new full-length album, titled "The Great Cessation." The record will see a July 14, 2009 release date via Profound Lore Records. Long respected as one of doom metal's finest and most potent bands, YOB creates mastodonic, mind-bending music. "The Great Cessation" was recorded in the band's hometown of Eugene, Oregon with fast-rising producer Sanford Parker (The Gates of Slumber) and is unquestionably the trio's finest hour. Clocking in at just over an hour, the album features 5 epic-length songs that showcase YOB's relentless stomp, brontosaurus pound and holy mountain of gargantuan riffs. Led by the nuclear-strength peristaltic chug of the twenty minute title track, "The Great Cessation" is a recording that threatens to raise the bar for doom metal achievement with a deliberate, maddening momentum. "The album will be called 'The Great Cessation,' states YOB vocalist/guitarist Mike Scheidt when asked for comment. "It has 5 tracks clocking in at 60 minutes. We are incredibly happy with how the tracking turned out. This album has some of our heaviest riffs, ever. We are very much looking forward to sharing these tunes with our friends worldwide." The Great Cessation's foreboding album cover art can be viewed now at this location. The track listing for The Great Cessation is as follows: 1. Burning the Altar (12:34) 2. The Lie that is Sin (11:16) 3. Silence of Heaven (9:48) 4. Breathing from the Shallows (7:35) 5. The Great Cessation (20:34)

Related News

Eighteen Visions announce 'Vanity' 20th anniversary tour
With support on select dates from Wristmeetrazor, SeeYouSpaceCowboy, End, more.

As I Lay Dying bassist Josh Gilbert quits band
After nearly 15 years in the band.