Home > News > View

Stinking Lizaveta set to release new album

Monday, January 19, 2009 9:27 PM PT

Official press release:

Born in the basements of West Philadelphia, and tempered by fifteen years of American and European tours, Stinking Lizaveta has built a reputation as one of indie metal's most progressive, unique, and devastating live acts. Whether it's the live performance, the physical recording or just their day to day lives, Stinking Lizaveta embodies their own brand of underground music philosophy.

The trio stands far apart from the plethora of instrumental post-rock /math-rock permeating the current indie music today. Like crazed Russian composer Alexander Scriabin artfully deconstructing and reconstructing melody, guitarist Yanni Papadopoulos' squealing / singing lines soar above brother Alexi Papadopoulos' churning electric upright bass. Drummer Cheshire Agusta holds it all together with a pounding that's one part Elvin Jones and another part John Bonham. Their sixth full length Sacrifice and Bliss captures all of these elements.

This time using the talents of Sanford Parker (Nachmystium, Yakuza) for production, Sacrifice and Bliss shows a heavy rock trio at its absolute best. While Albini managed to best capture the live sound of Stinking Liz. on tape for Scream of the Iron Iconoclast, Parker manages to capture the first real studio sounding album for the band. If you're tired of the stale sludge that passes for modern metal, the sparkling crunch of Stinking Lizaveta's latest will restore your faith in rock!

Stinking Lizaveta has also posted three brand new tracks off "Sacrifice and Bliss" on their Myspace page. "Sacrifice and Bliss" will hit streets on March 31st via At A Loss Recordings. The album will also see a European release on February 16th courtesy of Monotreme Records.

Track listing for Sacrifice and Bliss:

01. Autochthony! Autochthony!
02. A Day Without A Murder
03. Zeitgeist The Movie
04. When I Love You
05. Sacrifice and Bliss
06. We Will See
07. A Man Without A Country
08. Superluxation
09. Trouble Mountaint
10. The Man Needs Your Pain

Related News Stories