Home > News > View

Black Market Activities signs Sweet Cobra

Monday, June 2, 2008 10:18 PM PT

Official press release:

Black Market Activities proudly announces the addition of Sweet Cobra to the family. The band's Hawthorne Street Records release, "Forever," will be reissued through Black Market Activities on June 24th.

An admiration for '70s inspired groove rock and remnants of a hardcore driven past brewed the foundation for Sweet Cobra. The mind-boggling grooves and sludgy, down-trodden guitar riffs make avoiding toe-tapping nearly inescapable. Driven by murky grooves, Sweet Cobra incorporates the disgruntled fervor of hardcore as the finishing touch.

Sweet Cobra formed in 2002 with drummer Jason Gagovski (Suicide Note) and vocalist/bassist Botchy Vasquez (The Killer). Guitarists Robert Lanham and Matt Arluck later joined on to complete the line-up. The band made its debut on Seventh Rule Recordings with "Praise," introducing Sweet Cobra's boundary defying sound. Picking up where "Praise" left off is 2007's "Forever," originally released through Hawthorne Street Records. "Forever" offers eight songs, encompassing a similar reefer madness, with production by Greg Norman (Pelican) and mixed by Sanford Parker (Minsk) at Volume Studios.

Check out Sweet Cobra online here.

Related News Stories