Home > News > Article

Shai Hulud set to release new album

Friday, March 14, 2008 11:10 AM PT / 7,160 views

Official press release: Shai Hulud are finally back with their new album (and Metal Blade Records debut) "Misanthropy Pure." Recorded at Silver Bullet Media in Connecticut and mixed by Eric Rachel at Trax East, "Misanthropy Pure," the band's first offering in over five years, Shai Hulud kicks it old school, according to founding member Matt Fox. "It's faster, slower, more metal, less metal, more rock, more progressive, and less progressive than anything we've ever done." Don't call it a comeback. It's not a reunion. It's an emergence from a hibernation that included plenty of activity. Shai Hulud have returned to the forefront of a scene they helped create. While the current "metalcore" climate has a blueprint that was co-authored by Shai Hulud, the band isn't content to rest on past triumphs. When the metalcore sound was in its infancy, there were four bands that every band was copying and those bands were Dillinger Escape Plan, Converge, Poison The Well, and Shai Hulud. Musically, the album combines hardcore, thrash, punk and metal, and siphons influence from diverse sources, ranging from Metallica to Burn to Testament to Dead Kennedy's to Circle Jerks. "We were influenced by Youth of Today and Testament from day one," Fox says proudly of the days before the term "metalcore" even existed. He admits they up the ante, refusing to adhere to trends or to cash in on some musical renaissance. "It's like that movie Deep Blue Sea," Fox says. "The tagline on the DVD box is 'Bigger. Faster. Smarter. Meaner.' That's how this record is. Is it the best thing we've ever done? I don't know. We'll leave that to those who listen." "Misanthropy Pure" was written and recorded by Matt Fox (guitars), Matt Fletcher (bass), Matt Mazzali (vocals), and Andrew Gormley (drums). Track listing "Misanthropy Pure": 01. Venomspreader 02. The Creation Ruin 03. Misanthropy Pure 04. We Who Finish Last 05. Chorus Of The Dissimilar 06. In The Mind And Marrow 07. To Bear The Brunt Of Many Blades 08. Four Earths 09. Set You Body Ablaze 10. Be Winged 11. Cold Lord Quietus - I. They Congregate To Mourn - II. The Persecution Of Every Next Breath - III. Go Forth To Life "Misanthropy Pure" will be released the 30th of May (D/A/CH/I) and the 26th of May (rest of Europe).

Related News